Florida Debtor
January 22, 2018, 02:13:54 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Florida Debtor - Now even better!
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
Author Topic: Question - SOL on Cable Bill? (FL)  (Read 2739 times)
Posts: 34

View Profile
« on: October 05, 2010, 10:34:01 AM »

Does anyone have any information regarding the Statute of Limitations for a Cable Bill?

I am not a lawyer, and I don't play one on TV. 
The views and opinions expressed by the poster are not necessarily those of the host, staff, management, or advertisers of this site.
This post made possible through a grant from the 'screw-em-all' corp
Posts: 6

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2010, 08:54:07 PM »

Florida Statutes of Limitation

    Contract or written instrument and for mortgage foreclosure: 5 years. F.S. 95.11.

    Libel, slander, or unpaid wages: 2 years.

    Judgments: 20 years total and to be a lien on any real property, it has to be re-recorded for a second time at 10 years.

    The limitations period begins from the date the last element of the cause of action occurred, (95.051). NOTE: The limitation period is tolled (stopped) for any period during which the debtor is absent from the state and each time a voluntary payment is made on a debt arising from a written instrument.

    Almost all other actions fall under the 4-year catch-all limitations period, (F.S. 95.11(3)(p)).

None of the information contained in any of my posts is intended to constitute legal or other professional advice,and you should not rely solely on the information. When necessary seek legal advice from an Attorney.
Posts: 370

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2011, 04:54:54 PM »

An unpaid cable bill falls under civil contract law.
SoL is determined by the causes of action alleged by the plaintiff and the documents the plaintiff enters into the record of the court.
Open Accouint CoA, Account Stated CoA are 4 year SoLs.
Breach of Contract can be 5 years if the documents on their face show the liability of the defendant and the amount of liability without resort to additional (parol or spoken) testimony. The documents must comply with the Florida Evidence Code, Chapter 90, for best evidence and business record exception to the hearsay rule, and also all affidavits must come from someone with personal knowledge, not from a third party debt collector.
Pages: [1]
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!